State of Oklahoma Elections and Voting

Election Day is November 5

  • October 11                  Deadline to register to vote
  • October 21                  Deadline to request absentee ballot
  • October 30                 First day of early voting
  • November 2               Last day of early voting
  • November 4                Deadline to hand-deliver absentee ballots
  • November 5                Deadline for election authority to receive mailed-in absentee ballots
  • November 5                Election day


To register to vote in Oklahoma, you must:

  • Be a United States citizen
  • Be a resident of Oklahoma
  • Be at least 18 years old (17 1/2 year olds can preregister to vote)
  • Not be currently serving a sentence for a felony (including probation and parole)
  • Not be judged incapacitated by a court


How to register to vote:

  • Online: Register online using the OK Voter Portal’s Online Voter Registration System.  (An Oklahoma Driver License/State ID and a signature on file with Service Oklahoma is required.)
  • By-mail: Download a Voter Registration Application from the State Election Board website or fill out a Voter Registration Application using the OK Voter Portal “wizard.” Applications are also available at your County Election Board, most tag agencies, libraries, and post offices. Applications must be mailed or hand delivered to your County Election Board to complete the process.
  • In-Person: Register at your County Election Board office, your local tag agency, or with select public assistance agencies when you apply for, update, or renew services. Submitted applications will be mailed to the State Election Board by the agent at no cost.


Voter ID Requirements

Proof of identification is required to vote in Oklahoma. There are three ways to show proof of identity:

  • Photo Identification: A document used for proof of identity for voting must have been issued by the United States government, the State of Oklahoma, or a federally recognized tribal government and must contain the following information:
    • The name of the person to whom it was issued
    • A photograph of the person to whom it was issued
    • An expiration date that is after the date of the election, unless the identification is valid indefinitely
    • *The law requires the voter’s name on the proof of identity document to “substantially conform” to the voter’s name in the Precinct Registry.  In other words, your name on your proof of identity must match your name in the Precinct Registry.
  • County election board voter identification card: voters may use the free voter identification card they received by mail from the County Election Board when they registered to vote.  The law allows use of the voter identification card even though it does not include a photograph.
  • Affidavit with provisional ballot: If you do not show proof of identity, you may vote only by provisional ballot. Voters who cast provisional ballots are required to fill out and sign an affidavit that explains why their provisional ballot should be counted. After election day, County Election Board officials will investigate the information provided by the voter on the affidavit and either will approve the provisional ballot for counting or will reject it based on the outcome of that investigation.

Visit VoteRiders for more information on voter ID requirements in Oklahoma.


Absentee Voting

Any registered voter in Oklahoma may vote by absentee ballot. It is not necessary to give a reason, although some voters may qualify for special conditions.

There are several types of absentee ballots – each with specific instructions for requesting a ballot and returning a ballot. View the full list and requirements here.


Early In-Person Voting

In-person absentee voting – more commonly referred to as “early voting” in Oklahoma – is available to all voters. No excuse is needed.

You can vote early in your county at your designated early voting location from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. on the Thursday and Friday preceding an election. You must vote in the county where you are registered.

In addition to early voting the Thursday and Friday preceding an election, early voting is also available from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. on the Saturday immediately preceding a state or federal Primary Election, Runoff Primary Election, General Election or Presidential Preferential Primary Election.

Early voting is also available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. the Wednesday preceding the General Election.

Find your early voting location here.




Tribes in Oklahoma

Federally Recognized Tribes

  • Absentee-Shawnee Tribe of Indians
  • Alabama-Quassarte Tribal Town
  • Apache Tribe of Oklahoma
  • Caddo Nation of Oklahoma
  • Cherokee Nation
  • Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes
  • Citizen Potawatomi Nation
  • Comanche Nation
  • Delaware Nation
  • Delaware Tribe of Indians
  • Eastern Shawnee Tribe of Oklahoma
  • Fort Sill Apache Tribe of Oklahoma
  • Iowa Tribe of Oklahoma
  • Kaw Nation
  • Kialegee Tribal Town
  • Kickapoo Tribe of Oklahoma
  • Kiowa Indian Tribe of Oklahoma
  • Miami Tribe of Oklahoma
  • Modoc Tribe of Oklahoma
  • Muscogee (Creek) Nation
  • Ottawa Tribe of Oklahoma
  • Otoe-Missouria Tribe of Indians
  • Pawnee Nation of Oklahoma
  • Peoria Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma
  • Ponca Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma
  • Quapaw Tribe of Indians
  • Sac & Fox Nation
  • Seminole Nation of Oklahoma
  • Seneca-Cayuga Nation
  • Shawnee Tribe
  • The Chickasaw Nation
  • The Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma
  • The Osage Nation
  • Thlopthlocco Tribal Town
  • Tonkawa Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma
  • United Keetoowah Band of Cherokee Indians in Oklahoma
  • Wichita and Affiliated Tribes (Wichita, Keechi, Waco and Tawakonie)
  • Wyandotte Nation

State Recognized Tribes

  • None


Native Vote Coordinators

Sign up to be a local Native Vote coordinator


Major Party Contact Information

Chair, Alicia Andrews

Chair, Nathan Dahm


Posted in States.