State of Washington Elections & Voting

Election Day is November 8, 2022

  • October 21                  Start of 18-day voting period. Ballots are mailed out and Accessible Voting Units (AVUs) are available at voting centers
  • October 31                  Deadline to receive voter registrations online and by mail
  • November 8                Deadline for in-person voter registration
  • November 8                Election Day – deposit your ballot in an official drop box by 8 p.m.


To register to vote in Washington, you must be:

  • A citizen of the United States
  • A legal resident of Washington state for at least 30 days prior to election day
  • At least 18 years old
  • Not disqualified from voting due to a court order
  • Not currently serving a sentence of total confinement in prison under the jurisdiction of the department of corrections for a Washington felony conviction
  • Not currently incarcerated for a federal or out-of-state felony conviction

Effective January 1st, 2022, if you were convicted of a felony in Washington State, another state, or in federal court, your right to vote will be restored automatically as long as you are not currently serving a sentence of total confinement in prison.


How to register to vote:

It’s easy and secure to register online, by mail with a paper form, or at a county elections office. Check your registration at VoteWA.gov. In-person same day registration and voting is allowed.


Voter ID Requirements

Your signature on ballot declaration or provisional ballot must match voter registration record, or you must provide a valid (not expired) photo ID such as:

  • Driver’s license
  • State ID card
  • Student ID card
  • Tribal ID card
  • Employer ID card
  • US Passport




Tribes in Washington

Federally recognized tribes

  • Shoalwater Bay Indian Tribe of the Shoalwater Bay Indian Reservation
  • Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation
  • Hoh Indian Tribe
  • Stillaguamish Tribe of Indians of Washington
  • Kalispel Indian Community of the Kalispel Reservation
  • Upper Skagit Indian Tribe
  • Spokane Tribe of the Spokane Reservation
  • Lower Elwha Tribal Community
  • Skokomish Indian Tribe
  • Cowlitz Indian Tribe
  • Squaxin Island Tribe of the Squaxin Island Reservation
  • Suquamish Indian Tribe of the Port Madison Reservation
  • Swinomish Indian Tribal Community
  • Tulalip Tribes of Washington
  • Samish Indian Nation
  • Sauk-Suiattle Indian Tribe
  • Snoqualmie Indian Tribe
  • Port Gamble S’Klallam Tribe
  • Puyallup Tribe of the Puyallup Reservation
  • Quileute Tribe of the Quileute Reservation
  • Lummi Tribe of the Lummi Reservation
  • Makah Indian Tribe of the Makah Indian Reservation
  • Muckleshoot Indian Tribe
  • Nisqually Indian Tribe
  • Nooksack Indian Tribe
  • Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe
  • Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation
  • Confederated Tribes of the Chehalis Reservation

State recognized tribes

  • Chinook Indian Tribe

Native Vote Coordinators

Sign up to be a local Native Vote coordinator today!

Leonard Forsman

Julie Johnson
Native American Caucus – WA State

Yvette Joseph
Democratic Precinct Committee Officer
Colville Confederated Tribes
(509) 789-2657

Crystal Lyons
Quileute Tribal Council

Leesa Wright
Puyallup Tribe
(253) 405-8111

Darlyn Warren
Executive Secretary
Skokomish Indian Tribe
(360) 426-4232

Matthew Tomaskin
Legislative Liaison
Yakama Nation
509-865-5121 ext. 484

Major Party Contact Information

Chair, Jaxon Ravens


Chairman, Susan Hutchison



Posted in States.