State of Wisconsin Voting & Elections

Election Day is November 8, 2022

  • October 19                  Deadline for online or mail-in voter registration
  • October 20                  First day of in-person voter registration
  • October 25                  First day of in-person absentee (early) voting
  • November 1                USPS recommended deadline to place completed ballot in the mail
  • November 3                Deadline to request absentee ballot
  • November 4                Deadline for in-person voter registration
  • November 6                Last day of in-person absentee (early) voting
  • November 8                Election Day


To register to vote in Wisconsin, you must be:

  • 18 years of age
  • A U.S. citizen
  • Reside at your current address for at least 28 days prior to the election
  • You cannot vote if you are serving a felony sentence. If you are currently serving any portion of a felony sentence, including probation or supervision, you are not eligible to vote in Wisconsin. Once your felony sentence is complete and your rights have been restored your right to vote is also reinstated, but you will need to re-register.
  • You cannot vote if you’ve been adjudicated incompetent. If a judge has specifically determined you to be incompetent to vote, you are not eligible to vote in Wisconsin. If you have been adjudicated incompetent, but not specifically incompetent to vote, then you are still eligible to vote.


How to register to vote:

You can register to vote online or by mail up to 20 days before the election. If you have a valid State of Wisconsin Driver License or State of Wisconsin ID card issued by the Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) you can register to vote online at MyVote. If you prefer to register in-person you can register in-person in your municipal clerk’s office up until the Friday before the election or at your polling place on Election Day. You must always provide a Proof of Residence document when registering to vote.


Voter ID Requirements

You will need to show an original copy of an acceptable photo ID to vote at your polling place or to cast an in-person absentee ballot at your municipal clerk’s office. You will also be required to provide a photocopy of your ID to cast an absentee ballot by mail, with certain exceptions for military and permanent overseas voters and permanent absentee voters.

These are acceptable for voting purposes, and can be unexpired or expired after the date of the most recent general election (currently, the November 3, 2020 election):

  • A Wisconsin DOT-issued driver license, even if driving privileges are revoked or suspended, and with or without a star in the right-hand corner.
  • A Wisconsin DOT-issued identification card, with or without a star in the right-hand corner
  • Military ID card issued by a U.S. uniformed service
  • A U.S. passport
  • An identification card issued by a federally recognized Indian tribe in Wisconsin (May be used even if expired before the most recent general election.)
  • A photo identification card issued by a Wisconsin accredited university or college that contains date of issuance, signature of student, and an expiration date no later than two years after date of issuance. (May be used even if expired before the most recent general election.)
    • If the university or college ID is expired, the student ID must be accompanied by a separate document that proves current enrollment.

These photo IDs are also acceptable for voting purposes, but must be unexpired:

  • A veteran’s photo identification card issued by the Veterans Health Administration of the federal Department of Veterans Affairs
  • A certificate of naturalization that was issued not earlier than two years before the date of an election at which it is presented
  • A driving receipt issued by Wisconsin DOT (valid for 45 days)
  • An identification card receipt issued by Wisconsin DOT (valid for 45 days)


Absentee Voting

All registered voters are eligible to vote absentee. With absentee voting, you can vote early at your municipal clerk’s office before Election Day, or receive your ballot by mail and either mail in your completed ballot or drop it off at your clerk’s office or polling place or absentee counting location. You can request an absentee ballot on myvote.wi.gov or make a request to your municipal clerk in person, in writing, or electronically using the Application for Absentee Ballot.


Wisconsin-specific resources




Tribes in Wisconsin

Federally recognized tribes

  • Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin
  • Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin
  • Stockbridge Munsee Community
  • Croix Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin
  • Sokaogon Chippewa Community
  • Oneida Nation
  • Ho-Chunk Nation of Wisconsin
  • Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin
  • Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians of the Lac du Flambeau Reservation of Wisconsin
  • Forest County Potawatomi Community
  • Bad River Band of the Lake Superior Tribe of Chippewa Indians of the Bad River Reservation

State recognized tribes

  • None

Native Vote Coordinator(s):

Sign up to be a local Native Vote Coordinator, today!

Major Party Contact Information

Chairperson, Ben Wikler

Chairperson, Ryan Green Deer
American Indian Caucus

Chairperson, Andrew Hitt

Posted in States.